Quick Navigation Links About UJ - FAQ - Case Studies - Key Services - Additional Services - Specifikt Svenskt - News - Links

Archived News

Isle of Man elects new Chief Minister

TONY Brown was elected by Tynwald, the Isle of Man’s parliament, as the new Chief Minister of the Isle of Man, as of 21 December 2006. He succeeds Donald Gelling as leader of the Island's government.

Brown has been a Member of House of Keys, Tynwald's directly elected first chamber, since 1981 and has held a range of ministerial posts, latterly serving as Speaker.

The new Chief Minister has appointed Allan Bell to continue as Treasury Minister after five years in the post. Bell has overseen the successful introduction of the Island's zero tax strategy this year.

Brown said: “My government is committed to continuing the Isle of Man success story of the past two decades and to maintaining an environment where businesses and individuals can flourish. The task ahead is to build on the Island's reputation as a competitive but responsible international business centre.”

The new Chief Minister's appointment follows the recent general election to the House of Keys, which are held every five years. Outgoing Chief Minister Donald Gelling did not seek re-election and is retiring from Tynwald after 20 years service.

Back to Top

Compliant XHTML | CSS | 508 | AAA

© Copyright 2005 Utlandsjuristen. Art Direction & Photography by Kamilian. Designed & Developed by iWeb